Support for org-mode

I’m a long-time Emacs user, and I have an extensive static website authored completely in org-mode, published using a pile of hacky Emacs Lisp kludges that I’ve built up over the years to augment org-mode’s native ox exporter framework.

I’m currently evaluating moving everything over to a better maintained static site generator, and Zola is my number one choice, in no small part because I’m a Rust developer, and I’m much more comfortable in a Rust ecosystem than in a language ecosystem for something like Hugo or Jekyll.

I do not expect that this would a high priority feature request, but I would love to see org-mode support. I’m happy to help contribute to it, even if it ends up being only for my own use.

Is there any interest in adding org-mode to exist along side Markdown?

1 Like

It’s not planned no. The only alternative document I would probably consider is Asciidoc but even that is too niche to be worth the time/support investment.

Completely understandable, it’s pretty niche, as you say.

If I were to work on it in a fork, would you consider potentially bringing into the main project at some point in the future as a pull request, assuming it was well vetted and tested, and that it could be supported?

Like Keats said it may become a maintenance burden over time, but if you see yourself as a long-term contributor and you’re willing to maintain that i’m sure many people will be interested :wink:

From a quick overview of the code, a few notes about potential implementation:

• rendering: rendering::render_content() should be able to call an org-mode parser/renderer when given more context (such as file extension). It should just always return a Result<rendering::markdown::Rendered>, which should be placed outside of markdown mod to be shared with and org-mode mod ; this Rendered includes internal links, toc, summary length, external links, and rendered HTML body